Taxes
  • District of Columbia

    Spending Up, Revenue Down

    By Michael Rainey

    Politicians argue about whether the U.S. has a revenue problem (taxes too low) or a spending problem (spending too high), but in historical context, it looks like the answer might be “both.” The...

  • Obama administration proposes new limits on tax-exempt political groups

    IRS Budget Cuts Led to Billions in Lost Corporate Tax Revenue: Study

    IRS budget cuts are costing the U.S. government substantially more in tax collections than they save, according to a new study highlighted by USA Today . Researchers at the Indiana University Kelley...

  • Why Americans Won't Vote for Carbon Taxes

    By Michael Rainey

    Earlier this year, dozens of well-known economists backed a proposal to use a carbon tax as part of the federal policy response to global warming. Carbon taxes are generally popular with policy wonks...

  • A screen shows the numbers after the closing bell at the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) in New York

    The Market Flashes a Recession Signal: Does the Economy Need New Stimulus?

    By Michael Rainey

    Investors scrambled for cover Wednesday as the bond market flashed a signal that a recession may be on the way, sending stocks sharply lower, with the Dow Jones Industrial Average falling 800 points...

  • US Taxes Lower Than in Most Developed Countries

    By Michael Rainey

    The Tax Policy Center on Monday released a chart that reminds us once again that taxes are lower in the U.S. than in most developed nations – and that was true even before the Republican tax cuts...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 8:55pm
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 8:51pm
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 - 4:27pm
Saturday, September 1, 2018 - 1:03am
Wednesday, August 29, 2018 - 9:00pm
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 - 6:53pm
Thursday, August 23, 2018 - 9:36pm
Tuesday, August 21, 2018 - 3:37pm
Friday, August 17, 2018 - 8:58pm
Wednesday, August 15, 2018 - 9:24pm
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 9:21pm
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 9:17pm
Thursday, August 9, 2018 - 9:40pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 9:23pm
Wednesday, August 8, 2018 - 8:41pm
Thursday, August 2, 2018 - 9:37pm
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 9:08pm
Wednesday, August 1, 2018 - 8:26pm
Monday, July 30, 2018 - 9:30pm
Friday, July 27, 2018 - 8:45pm
Thursday, July 26, 2018 - 10:00pm
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 9:16pm
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 9:01pm
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 9:14pm
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 9:28pm
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 6:33pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 9:15pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 9:15pm
Wednesday, July 18, 2018 - 5:45pm
Tuesday, July 17, 2018 - 8:29pm

Pages