Taxes
  • Public Investment Is the Key to Avoiding Economic Stagnation: Report

    By Michael Rainey

    Economic stagnation on a global scale is a growing threat, according to a new report from the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The group’s November economic outlook...

  • FILE PHOTO: Democratic presidential candidate Senator Elizabeth Warren speaks during the fourth U.S. Democratic presidential candidates 2020 election debate at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio U.S.

    Pushing Back Against the Wealth Tax at the Dem Debate

    By Michael Rainey

    Sen. Elizabeth Warren defended her proposed wealth tax at the Democratic presidential debate on Wednesday night: “I’m tired of freeloading billionaires,” Warren said . “I think it's time that we ask...

  • Social Security and Medicare taxes

    Democrat's New Taxes Wouldn't Hit Just Billionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Some Democratic tax proposals are focused on making millionaires and billionaires pay more, but other households would be affected as well. Neil Irwin of The New York Times points out Tuesday that...

  • A security camera hangs near a corner of the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) building in Washington

    An Easy Way to Get $1 Trillion More in Tax Revenue?

    By Michael Rainey

    The first step in reforming the U.S. tax system doesn’t involve raising rates or eliminating deductions, say former Treasury Secretary Lawrence Summers and Penn Law professor Natasha Sarin. Instead,...

  • FedEx cuts forecast as air freight weakness hits profit

    FedEx Battles New York Times Over Trump’s Tax Cuts

    By Michael Rainey

    The New York Times published a piece Saturday highlighting the huge windfall FedEx received from the 2017 GOP tax cuts — and the company’s CEO isn’t happy with the analysis. According to the Times,...

  • Number of the Day: $13 Billion

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    That’s how much Microsoft founder Bill Gates would pay in federal taxes this year under Elizabeth Warren’s proposed wealth taxes, according to back-of-envelope calculations by CNBC’s Robert Frank (...

  • Sen. Van Hollen announces a bipartisan agreement on Turkey sanctions during a news conference in Washington

    Democrats Propose New Tax on Millionaires

    By Michael Rainey

    Two Democratic lawmakers unveiled a plan Thursday that would raise taxes on high-income households. Sen. Chris Van Hollen of Maryland and Rep. Don Beyer of Virginia are proposing a 10-percentage...

  • FILE PHOTO - Kentucky Governor Matt Bevin introduces US Vice President Mike Pence to speak about the American Health Care Act during a visit to the Harshaw-Trane Parts and Distribution Center in Louisville

    Medicaid Work Requirements Dealt a Loss in Elections

    By Michael Rainey

    The effort to impose work requirements on Medicaid beneficiaries experienced a setback Tuesday with the apparent defeat of Kentucky Gov. Matt Bevin. Bevin, a Republican, hasn’t conceded defeat in his...

  • Wealthy Could See a Huge Tax Windfall if Obamacare Is Overturned

    By Michael Rainey

    The lawsuit by 18 state attorneys general seeking to invalidate the Affordable Care Act would provide an enormous tax cut for wealthy households if it succeeds, according to an analysis by the Center...

  • U.S. President Trump speaks to reporters as he departs for travel to Kentucky from the South Lawn of the White House in Washington

    Trump’s Florida Tax Move

    President Trump is making Palm Beach, Florida, his primary residence. The New York Times reported Thursday that the president and first lady filed documents in late September making their Mar-a-Lago...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Friday, October 19, 2012 - 4:04am
Thursday, October 18, 2012 - 4:07am
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 3:30pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 4:15am
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 6:40pm
Tuesday, October 16, 2012 - 3:30pm
Monday, October 15, 2012 - 6:36pm
Monday, October 15, 2012 - 4:09am
Friday, October 12, 2012 - 4:01am
Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 7:48pm
Thursday, October 11, 2012 - 2:48pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 4:03am
Wednesday, October 10, 2012 - 4:01am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 9:10pm
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 4:20am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 4:11am
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 5:33am
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 3:23am
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 4:56pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2012 - 4:04am
Friday, September 28, 2012 - 4:03am
Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 4:05am
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 6:46pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 4:30am
Wednesday, September 26, 2012 - 1:55am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 4:05am
Tuesday, September 25, 2012 - 4:03am
Sunday, September 23, 2012 - 4:25am
Wednesday, September 19, 2012 - 4:08am
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 8:03pm
Tuesday, September 18, 2012 - 4:22am
Monday, September 17, 2012 - 4:17am
Thursday, September 13, 2012 - 4:30am
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 - 4:02am
Tuesday, September 11, 2012 - 4:12am
Monday, September 10, 2012 - 3:30pm
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 4:34pm
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 4:30am
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 4:30am
Friday, September 7, 2012 - 4:12am
Thursday, September 6, 2012 - 4:07am
Tuesday, September 4, 2012 - 8:50am
Monday, September 3, 2012 - 4:02am
Thursday, August 30, 2012 - 12:00am
Wednesday, August 29, 2012 - 4:05am
Tuesday, August 28, 2012 - 4:02am
Friday, August 24, 2012 - 2:33pm
Friday, August 24, 2012 - 4:08am

Pages