Taxes
  • The Incredible Shrinking Tax Rate for the Rich

    By Michael Rainey

    The highest-income households in the U.S. have seen an enormous reduction in their overall tax burdens since 1950, a development highlighted Sunday by The New York Times’ columnist David Leonhardt,...

  • Would a Warren/Sanders Wealth Tax Kill the Economy?

    By Michael Rainey

    As Democratic presidential candidates debate a variety of new social programs, from universal health care to free higher education, Elizabeth Warren and Bernie Sanders are calling for a wealth tax to...

  • IRS: Sorry, but It’s Just Easier and Cheaper to Audit the Poor

    By Paul Kiel, ProPublica

    The IRS audits the working poor at about the same rate as the wealthiest 1% . Now, in response to questions from a U.S. senator, the IRS has acknowledged that’s true but professes it can’t change...

  • Senator Elizabeth Warren delivers a major policy speech  in Washington

    Elizabeth Warren Wants to Tax Corporate Lobbying

    By Michael Rainey

    Elizabeth Warren released a proposal to tax companies that spend more than $500,000 a year on lobbying the federal government. The goal of the plan is to “end lobbying as we know it,” Warren said in...

  • Tents and tarps erected by homeless people are shown along the sidewalks in the skid row area of downtown Los Angeles, California

    Rising Income Inequality Is a Fiscal Risk: Moody’s

    Income inequality in the United States last year reached the highest level since the Census Bureau started tracking it more than 50 years ago, even as median household income also reached a nominal...

Taxes Directory

Tags
Wednesday, September 6, 2017 - 5:10pm
Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 8:11pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 9:00pm
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 - 3:45pm
Thursday, August 24, 2017 - 3:19pm
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 8:45pm
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 8:25pm
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 4:51pm
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 3:23pm
Tuesday, April 25, 2017 - 5:25pm
Thursday, April 20, 2017 - 8:44pm
Monday, April 10, 2017 - 9:15am
Wednesday, April 5, 2017 - 5:30pm
Thursday, March 2, 2017 - 10:15am
Friday, January 27, 2017 - 10:15am

Pages